Hey everyone, I finally got back to blogging “Life in the Element.” I just recently finished my winter quarter at Bellevue College. As I now sit and wait to hear back from a nursing program in Eastern Washington, I have decided to do a little spring cleaning in my Element. For starters, I am putting away my zero degree down sleeping bag and pulling out my 20 degree REI Sub-Kilo down bag. I thought it would be a good idea to show everyone how my basic but simple sleeping arrangement is setup. As you can see in the photos below, I currently use a REI self-inflating sleeping pad. I purchased the sleeping pad for about $18 at the Seattle REI used gear sale.

Since I am slightly under 5’7″ in height, I have plenty of room sleeping on one side of the Element. With the right rear seat folded upright, my sleeping pad fits perfectly on the ground. To rest my head, I used a normal size pillow I kept from the studio I left last August. To keep warm, I have decided to unzip my sleeping bag completely and use it more like a blanket. As you can also see in the pictures, I have 3 stacked durable plastic drawers I purchased from Fred Meyers for about $14 each. These sliding drawers have really been useful to keep my clothes nicely organized. If your wondering, all of the clothes I own fit in these drawers. With that being said, I still think I have too many clothes and will probably donate a few more clothes to Goodwill.

Just this past weekend on Easter morning, some theft wandering the streets of Seattle decide to go ahead and steal my roof antenna off my Element. I woke up around 2am to the sound of some noise outside my Element. As I jumped up from my sleeping bag and turned around, I noticed a bystander departing from my Element. At first I didn’t know what to make of the situation and thought that the person was trying to shove something in through my flip-up sunroof. So I laid back down and thought, let me peak through the opening of the sunroof to see if this person caused any damage to the roof of my Element. As I got back up to inspect, I looked out the tiny opening of the sunroof and saw no damage but then notice that my roof antenna was missing.

Why in the world would someone take my roof antenna?…..I thought to myself. By the time I noticed my antenna missing, the theft was long gone. With my bear mace and 9mm at arms reach, I decide to ignore the situation and go back to sleep. With almost 8 months of living in the Element, I have only had 2 encounters of people causing harm to the Element. The first was the criminals who busted my passenger window with a rock, to now a theft who decided to steal a $20 antenna.

IMG_4065 IMG_4067

