When I first purchased my Element back in 2012, I decided I wanted some type of carpet for the rear cargo area. The best option at the time that I found was green AstroTurf carpet. I ended up purchasing a roll of AstroTurf from Home Depot. In order to get an exact fitment for the carpet, I had to create a cardboard template. In the pictures below, you will see the steps I took to complete my custom carpet for the Element:

Image

Image

Image

After almost 8 months of “Life in the Element,” I started to notice that the AstroTurf backing of the carpet started to make a white powder mess all over the Element floor. The AstroTurf  was a great idea at the time, but I have now decided I would change out the carpet with one that is mess-free. With Spring in full swing, I decided I would remove the AstroTurf carpet today and replace it a new Smoke Gray all-purpose carpet that I purchased from Home Depot. This time, the new carpet came in a 6’8′ length roll. I repeated the same steps as before with the exception of the cardboard template. I basically took the new carpet and traced the old AstroTurf on it for the template guide.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

